far far better

Of course Arthur Golden’s book Memoirs of a Geisha is far better than the movie itself. Beautifully written yet disturbing, with sadness and hope permeating the whole story. The first paragraph reminded me of Charles Dickens Tale of Two Cities:

Suppose that you and I were sitting in a quiet room overlooking a garden, chatting and sipping at our cups of green tea while we talked about something that had happened a long while ago, and I said to you, “That afternoon when I met so-and-so…was the very best afternoon of my life, and also the very worst afternoon.”

And how could you not feel for Chiyo’s complex feeling (the main character) with this line at the end of the book:

It is a far, far better thing that I do, than I have ever done; it is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.

A great summer reading. I guess I just love that last line.

 

a penny for your thoughts

