Day 30 – why I remix

A passage from The Art of Choosing by Sheena Iyengar, (pg 110):

If we set aside the statue of the perfect self, we might be able to see identity as a dynamic process rather than a static object. The chiseling, the carving out through our decisions, is what defines who we are. We are sculptors, finding ourselves in the evolution of choosing, not merely in the results of choice. When we change our thinking to embrace a more fluid process, choice will become no longer a force of destruction, an effort to break down what we don’t want to be, but an ongoing, liberating act of creation. Our obligation then is to find the choice that makes sense today that fulfills our needs given our immediate social context. Our choices are always interconnected with the choice of others and we are known for our previous and current choices, not for the imaginary “perfect” self-within. The writer Flannery O’Connor reportedly said, “I write to discover what I know.”

Rephrasing O’Connor’s word, I’d say, “I remix to discover what I know”.

Day 30 details:
#5 Snakeskin pumps – thrifted
#12 Gap tweed skirt – thrifted
#18 Mossimo long sleeves – Target
#27 Express cardigan – Marshalls
Layers of long necklaces – Kohls & Rugged Wearhouse

 

Linking up to Jewelscapes Handmade Jewelry. She is pretty and talented. I want to be like her!!!

2 thoughts on “Day 30 – why I remix

  1. Thanks so much for commenting on my video! I do work for Goodwill, but I work in PR as a contractor, so I can (and do!) shop and buy whatever I want. I shop “in the front” of the store only so I can blog about finding treasures just like everyone else.

    Like

  2. You are a brilliant woman. I find your posts enlightening and enriching (word?). You quote captures my life, as I know it to be right now. I have stepped outside my serious professional life to redefine myself through thrift. Crazy. But I’m happy. Love that we have connected in this blog world. You inspire me.

    Like

a penny for your thoughts

