one happy satisficer

I was in a hurry this morning. So I just picked my to go-to color, brown. Brown sweater, tweed skirt, brown boots, added belt and scarf, put on the same watches as yesterday, wool long jacket and out to the door.

Years ago I read Barry Schwartz’s book The Paradox of Choice, in which he wrote that there are two types of decision makers. One is the satisficers, people who take the first “good enough” option and move on. Second category is the maximizers, people who explores every options and finally make the best possible decision.

His studies show that the maximizers are less happy. Reason is that the maximizers compare their choices against an imaginary perfect choice, so naturally their actual choice doesn’t measure up. In other words, they have high and unrealistic expectations.

So I would say this morning, in terms of sartorial choices I am a satisficer. And there are days I am a maximizer.

Thrifted ensemble details:
JCrew boots – $3.99
Gap tweed skirt – $3.99
Banana Republic sweater – $4.49
Oscar de la Renta scarf – $0.50
Fossil and Anne Klein watches – $2.99 & $1.00

 

Linking up to Kris’s Fabulously Thrift and Fashionable Friday.

2 thoughts on “one happy satisficer

  1. I believe I’m a maximizer . . . hmmm. I must ponder this. ; )

    Great look and your out-of-pocket costs are insane. I have today off, which is unusual, so I’m heading off to the thrift store. I bet you’re thrifting today too.

    Like

a penny for your thoughts

