Namaste to the coat

Today I want to share my latest find, a vintage wool coat. From the info that I could dig, this coat probably was made in 1960s. Found in pristine condition, the coat bears the workers union label, the hem is hand-stitched, and is double lined with silk sewn to sort of thick muslin fabric inside which gives it weight and fall elegantly. I am telling you, the coat is just incredibly, inordinately, devastatingly, immortally, calamitously, hearteningly and adorably beautiful. I couldnt help but reminded of a passage from Grist for the Mill by Ram Dass:

In India, when we meet and part we often say “Namaste,” which means I honor the place in you where the entire universe resides. I honor the place in you of love, of light, of truth, of peace. I honor the place within you. Where if you are in that place in you and I am in that place in me, there is only one of us.

Thrifted ensemble details:
Craigleigh Exclusive 1960s vintage coat – $4.50
Steve Madden heels – $3.99
Guess skinny jeans – $5.99
JCrew sweater – $3.59 (inside the coat)

Linking up to Thrift Share Monday.

4 thoughts on “Namaste to the coat

a penny for your thoughts

