my mother

Who ran to help me when I fell,
And would some pretty story tell,
Or kiss the place to make it well?
My mother

~ Ann Taylor, Original Poems for Infant Minds

Yesterday I donned a snake bracelet that I inherited when my mother passed away. She loved gold. Her wedding band which also in my possession is a solid 22K gold. I prefer silver to gold. When I was younger, I remember I always strived to be the opposite of her. Then one day a few years ago, while debating with my ex-husband, I realized, “Oh my god, I sound just like my mother”. Dont get me wrong, my mother was a beautiful, smart, resourceful, artistic, generous and loving woman I ever know. I may never bicker like my mother again, but 14 years after my mother’s death, I find it far more comforting than irritating to realize how much she’s still there in my mind.

may6th
Goodwill thrifted outfit details:
BCBG booties – $3.99
Armani Exchange pants- $5.99
ABS Allen Schwartz shirt – $3.59
Brown woven belt – $1.59
Anne Klein watch – $2.99
Guess layer necklace – Burlington clearance
Bulova watch – gifted
Snake bangle – inheritance

bulova&snake-bangle

Happy Mother’s Day to all mothers.

One thought on “my mother

  1. I’m glad you shared an inherited item as our family legacy can be passed down through shared memories, photographs, and yes, things. The jewelry inherited from my aunt still has her scent. What a beautiful tribute you are to your mother.

    Like

a penny for your thoughts

