if a pretty woman all the better

Charles Darwin, in his Autobiography, on his reading habits:

Up to the age of thirty, or beyond it, poetry of many kinds, such as the works of Milton, Gray, Byron, Wordsworth, Coleridge, and Shelley, gave me great pleasure, and even as a schoolboy I took intense delight in Shakespeare, especially in the historical plays. I have also said that formerly pictures gave me considerable, and music very great delight. But now for many years I cannot endure to read a line of poetry; I have tried lately to read Shakespeare, and found it so intolerably dull that its nauseated me….On the other hand, novels, which are works of the imagination, though not of a very high order, have been for years a wonderful relief and pleasure to me, and I often bless all novelists. A surprising number have been read aloud to me, and I like all if moderately good, and if they do not end unhappily – against which a law ought to be passed. A novel, according to my taste, does not come into the first class unless it contains some person whom one can thoroughly love, and if a pretty woman all the better.

On my style diary note, I always feel pretty when I am wearing black, though today’s temperature reached 90 degrees. Ahhh …things we do to feel pretty.

may26th
Goodwill thrifted outfit details:
Escada heels – $3.99
Banana Republic shirt dress – $6.99
Cole Haan belt – Goodwill Outlet loot $1.39/lb
Assorted bracelets – $2.99 each

a penny for your thoughts

