beautiful things

In The Sights Along the Harbor, Harvey Shapiro wrote a poem:

This was a day when I did nothing,
aside from reading the newspaper,
taking both breakfast and lunch by myself
in the kitchen, dozing after lunch
until the middle of the afternoon. Then
I read one poem by Zbigniew Herbert
in which he thanked God for the many beautiful
things in this world, in a voice so absurdly
truthful, the entire wrecked day was redeemed.

 

Below are some beautiful things that I brought home from thrift stores last week.

reading nook1I scored this lamp for $4.00 at Goodwill. I love the silver finish.

necklace-nookFinally I get to showcase my necklaces. The larger shadow box was $3.99 and the other one was $3.19 from Goodwill.

samsonite1I found this vintage Samsonite at Salvation Army and paid it for $3.25.

sewing-patterns2And more sewing patterns from Goodwill Outlet. There are priced by the weight, $0.59 per lb.

On a style note, I wore these around the house, minus the heels though.

may29a
Kenneth Cole heels – Goodwill $3.99
Ann Loft skirt – Goodwill $3.99
Forever 21 t-shirt – found new w/tags at Goodwill $3.59
Louis Vuitton Alma – gifted

Linking up to Thrift Share Monday.

4 thoughts on “beautiful things

  1. Your suitcase is beautiful and I just love the way that you displayed your necklaces…I recently donated four or five shadow boxes that I wasn’t using to the thrift and now I’m wishing I had kept one or two to create my own display/storage case for necklaces!

    Like

  2. Love the retro pattern and the suitcase. I had to write because you already beautifully placed the lamp for your use…isn’t finding something you like and using it the best? I feel so happy and smug when I discover something unusual that might have ended up in a landfill. Enjoy your treasures.

    Like

a penny for your thoughts

