you’ve made me very happy

Continuing a love letters/confessions series, I remember a funny scene from movie The Jerk starring Steve Martin:

Marie, are you awake? Good. You look so beautiful and peaceful, you almost look dead. I’m glad because there is something that has always been very difficult for me to say. I slit the sheet, the sheet I slit, and on the slitted sheet I sit. I’ve never been relaxed enough around anyone to be able to say that. You give me confidence in myself. I know we’ve only known each other four weeks and three days, but to me it seems like nine weeks and five days. The first day seemed like a week and the second day seemed like five days and the third day seemed like a week again and the fourth day seemed like eight days and the fifth day you went to see your mother and that seemed just like a day and then you came back and later on the sixth day, in the evening, when we saw each other, that started seeming like two days, so in the evening it seemed like two days spilling over into the next day and that started seeming like four days, so at the end of the sixth day on into the seventh day, it seemed like a total of five days. And the sixth day seemed like a week and a half. I have it written down, but I can show it to you tomorrow if you want to see it. Anyway, I’ve decided that tomorrow, when the time is right, I’m going to ask you to marry me. If that’s o.k. with you, just don’t say anything. You’ve made me very happy.

Today was hot with the heat index of 105. I wore a simple, airy Ann Loft dress.

may31st

Goodwill thrifted outfit details:
Cole Haan heels – $3.99
Ann Loft dress – $6.99
Assorted bangles – Burlington clearance
Sterling silver green amethyst pendant – Ebay

amethyst-pendant

3 thoughts on “you’ve made me very happy

    1. p.s. I can’t figure out how to follow officially, so I’m cutting and pasting your url into my RSS feed. I’ll do it more formally if you’ll tell me how.

      Like

      1. Hi A-Dubs, thanks for reading my blog. It is always wonderful to meet ‘fellow’ academician in a fashion style community. I said ‘fellow’ because I used to teach, I was an engineering instructor at a community college few years ago.
        To follow you could click on the RSS feed button on the top right hand corner of my blog and choose the application either yahoo or google.
        Hope that helps. I’ll be following you as well. Thanks again.

        J.

        Like

a penny for your thoughts

