favorite literary characters

Although I’m pitiful when asked to list top loves – changing my mind as soon as I’ve spoken: yes, no wait… (I remember a joke so popular among theologians: In those days when darkness ruled the earth, a female angel one day said: ‘Let there be light.’ And there was light. Then she said, ‘Oh, hang on, can I see darkness again?’) I’ve been wondering about the characters that have shaped the literary landscape, trying to come up with some favorites.

In an agonizing bid at self-discipline, I’m going to confine myself to 3, in no particular order.

Male
Humbert Humbert, for paving the way for perverts everywhere.
Bertie Wooster, for taking the fool to new levels.
Don Quixote, for sheer tenacity.

Female
Lady Macbeth, for setting an example for political wives.
Emma Bovary, offering tips for a successful marriage.
Jane Bennet, because where would girls be without Austen?

Oh… I already want to change my mind.

 

june2ndGoodwill thrifted outfit details:
Steve Madden wedges – $3.99
Newport News dress – $6.99
Mother-of-pearl necklace – $2.99
Amethyst beads bracelets – self made

a penny for your thoughts

