beautiful things

A passage from The Fight and Other Writings by William Hazlitt:

…we agreed to adjourn to my lodgings to discuss measures with that cordiality which makes old friends like new, and new friends like old, on great occasions. We are cold to others only when we are dull in ourselves, and have neither thoughts nor feelings to impart to them. Give a man a topic in his head, a throb of pleasure in his heart, and he will be glad to share it with the first person he meets.

Not my lodgings but at Apron Thrift Girl’s Thrift Share Monday, I am glad to share this weeks’ heart-throbs of pleasure.

bangle vase
I’ve been hunting for a milk glass white vase to hold my bangles. This one cost me $1.00 at Salvation Army.

silk scarves
Silk scarves that I scored at Salvation Army for $0.75 each. Now I just need to learn how to style them without looking like Betty White.

dooney&bourke1
Found this opulent Dooney & Bourke leather handbag buried in a large bin at the Goodwill Outlet. Price less than a dollar as item are sold for $1.39 per lb.

 

Hop over to Apron Thrift Girl to see more beautiful thrifty finds.

12 thoughts on “beautiful things

  1. Grace, Annie, VintageScapes, Tammy and Joyful:

    Thanks for reading. Appreciate your presence here.

    KDot, Ella and Heidi:

    I cant take the credit, it wasnt my idea. I saw somebody on some website using a vase to hold her bangles on her dresser (either a style blogger or another thrifter). Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  2. That’s a great idea to put bangles on a vase! I have several milk glass vases and could definitely steal the idea. And a D&B bag at a thrift shop? You definitely scored!

    Like

  3. Great idea on the milk vase!! LOVE the bag!!
    One of these days, I’m going to fly from Canada to visit you and go on thrifting trip with you.

    Looking forward for your take on styling the scarves!!
    I just got 3 scarves – and have no idea how to style them!

    Like

    1. Yes Kay, come on over! I live between DC Metro area and Richmond. Goodwill & Salvation Army prices is low here compared to DC Goodwill or Richmond Goodwill. Richmond also has a Goodwill Outlet, which I havent got around to visit yet. Perhaps one of these days.

      Like

  4. I love the milk glass idea. I have a huge collection of milk glass, including many vases. I think I will steal your idea.

    BTW, I just noticed that you added me to your blog roll. Thank you so much. It made me giggle proudly, seeing my blog in a list with some GREAT blogs. Thank you!

    Like

a penny for your thoughts

