life would become an existential shopping spree

Let’s talk about pricing. My Goodwill adopts standard prices. Example for tops, either a long sleeves or a short sleeves, a bulky sweater or a cropped sheer tank, a brand new with tags or a discolored worn-out rags, a Walmart brand or an Italian made Bergdorf Goodman brand, all are price at $4.49. But I refuse to pay $4.00 for a top, so I make sure I carry a bunch of coupons with me. I get the coupons by donating, every donation you’ll receive a 20% coupon. Instead of $4.49, I only pay $3.59 for a top. Dresses are priced at $6.99, skirt $3.99, pants and jeans at $5.99, purses $3.49, and jewelry for $2.99 each.

goodwill-shirts-prices

goodwill-dress-prices

Though, I’ve noticed prices do vary on high-ticket items. One store with a female manager, I supposed she’s well-informed on brands, she priced a Nine West leather handbag for $25 and a Coach handbag for $120. Heck for that price I could’ve gone to Potomac Mills to get a brand new and better selection of Coach purses.

And of course, my favorite is the Goodwill Outlet where items are sold by weight. I do limit myself not to spend more than $7 per trip. … Hmm…it is only Day 3 of 30×30 remix, I am already suffering a thrifting withdrawal. This is tough!

goodwill-outlet
In an effort to control my impulse, I am rereading a passage from Not With a Bang But a Whimper by Theodore Dalrymple:

If you empty the world of purpose, make it one of brute fact alone, you empty it (for many people, at any rate) of reasons for gratitude, and a sense of gratitude is necessary for both happiness and decency. For what can soon, and all too easily, replace gratitude is a sense of entitlement. Without gratitude, it is hard to appreciate, or be satisfied with, what you have: and life will become an existential shopping spree that no product satisfies.

Day 3

june15th
Goodwill thrifted outfit details:
Tahari heels – $3.99
DKNY seersucker skirt – $3.99
Nicole Miller shirt – $3.59
Vintage leather belt – Goodwill Outlet $1.39/lb
Assorted bracelets – Kohl’s clearance

3 thoughts on “life would become an existential shopping spree

  1. Gosh – you’re lucky. In Brighton (UK), where I live, the local charity shop workers get sent on ‘label recognition’ courses and they price accordingly – £35 for a Ben Sherman coat, £60 for a Harris Tweed jacket, £40 for cowboy boots and high, high prices for anything ‘retro’ (or over 10 years old.)

    It’s a new world here for charity shops. Long ago they used to be manned by teams of old ladies who would lovingly steam-clean and display all the newish, easy-care crimplene dresses and elasticated slacks. On spacious rails. For respectfully high prices. Anything they considered ‘old fashioned’ – from the 50s or 60s or (shudder) needing ironing – would be 50p an item in tall cardboard bins on the floor. Happy days.

    Long live cavernous Goodwill stores where wonderful treasures still wait to be discovered. Happy hunting!

    Like

  2. You can do it !!! You will be so proud in the end 🙂

    I have noticed that the proces at my Value Village can be very high to the moment it’s a current brand, which can be very annoying. I like to go thrift when they have the 50% sales, then it really seems like I make fabulous deals. I wonder if there are outlets where I live…

    Great blog about thrifting, very inspiring!! I’m very glad to hav discovered it 🙂

    Virginie ♥

    Like

  3. Beautifully said, Theodore. Your standard prices are cheaper than ours. I can relate with the pricing story. In Los Angeles (the West side = $$$), brand names are not usually marked up, as they are a dime a dozen, but when you go to in the burbs, the nicer brand names are marked up. Someday soon, I will be retiring (yes, an early retirement!) and when I do, I want to work at the Goodwill part-time. A dream job for me. Wonder if they’ll hire me. I would certainly make up my pay thru brand knowledge, pricing, and free advertising. ; )

    Lovely outfit!

    Like

a penny for your thoughts

