grandpa’s wisdom

In conjunction with Father’s Day weekend, I’d like to share a funny story.
This is a short story written by a grandson who had a very special relationship with his Grandpa. Many of us unfortunately were born after our own Grandpas had passed on and never had the opportunity to enjoy moments like this .. The grandson writes …

I hope this will again confirm that the most important information in your life won’t come from a teacher, the library or the Internet. It comes from a mentor, and always on a very personal level.
My long-passed grandfather’s birthday is coming up and for me it is a time to reminisce. We used to take long walks and drives together. He would make special trips to pick me up so I could spend weekends with him.
I was young when he died. If he were living today and sharing his pearls of wisdom, I’d be a better man.

Those gems were all well and good, but the one I remember best came from him when I was only 12.
We were sitting in a park, watching children with their mothers enjoying a beautiful spring day. He told me that one day, I’d find a woman and start my own family. Then came the jewel in the crown of grandfatherly advice when he said,
“And be sure you marry a woman with small hands.”
“Why should I do that, Grandpa?” I asked.
“It makes your pecker look bigger.”

It kinda brings a tear to your eye, doesn’t it?”

 

On a style diary note:

Day 5 [Friday’s outfit …gold overload]
june17th

Goodwill thrifted outfit details:
Steve Madden wedges – $3.99
Vintage BCBG skirt – $3.99
Michael Kors top – $3.59
Skinny gold belt – Goodwill Outlet $1.39/lb
Assorted gold bracelet – Kohl’s clearance

Day 6 [Running errands and grocery shopping]
june18th

Goodwill thrifted outfit details:
Coach sandals – $5.24
Burberry skirt – $3.99
Banana Republic top – $3.59
Bangle – Salvation Army $2.00
Sterling silver jade pendant – Rugged Warehouse

One thought on “grandpa’s wisdom

  1. Beautiful outfits J. Love the gold and green one, I’d never have come up with that combo myself. Also love the blue/yellow and green sandals ones.

    Like

a penny for your thoughts

