being without you is like being without hands

Continuing Love Letters/Confessions Series, I indulge you with a few excerpts from Dear Writer, Dear Actress: The Love Letters of Anton Chekhov and Olga Knipper:
On Oct.14, 1903, Chekhov wrote to Knipper:

[…] I sent for Altschuler as I was sick of having the runs. He ordered me to eat up to eight eggs a day and minced ham. […] Being without you is like being without hands. I’m on a desert island […]

For two months after Chekhov’s death, Knipper kept a diary of letters addressed to him. It makes for heartbreaking reading. On Aug.19, 1904, she wrote:

At last I am able to write to you Anton, my dear, my sweet, so near and yet so far! I don’t know where you are now. I’ve been waiting a long time for the day when I could write to you. Today, I went to Moscow and visited your grave…

The above notes found via anecdotal evidence. On a personal style note, I wore this elementary matchy-matchy combo today.

july21st
Goodwill thrifted outfit details:
Steve Madden heels – $3.99
H&M pencil skirt – $3.99
Cynthia Steffe blouse – Salvation Army $0.50
Skinny belt – $1.59
Mexican silver mother of pearl bangle – $2.99
silver pink bangle

One thought on “being without you is like being without hands

  1. That is a beautiful bangle!! You have a GREAT eye for clothes and accessories and even greater remembrance when it comes to quotes, J.!

    Like

a penny for your thoughts

