thoughts on personal style blog

aug5th
Goodwill thrifted outfit details:
BCBG heels
Calvin Klein dress
Ann Taylor handbag – ebay
Lapis Lazuli sterling silver pendant – etsy

This month marks the seventh month since I first started taking outfit photos. It was back in February that I challenged myself to participate in Kendi’s 30×30 remix. I have been blogging, though I like to call it my online reading notes, since 2008 with Vox. I was even Vox beta user. When Vox became defunct last year I transferred some of my notes over here.
Back to snapping daily outfit, I am enjoying it. At the end of the week, when I revise my photos, they give me new perspectives. Unlike seeing yourself in the mirror, it is like out of body experience, you see yourself from a different dimension. I learn what color works and which silhouette translates well in photos.
My sister thinks all this exercise of personal style blogging is kind of shallow. On my defense, I reply, “It is about feeding my right brain, my creative spirit. After churning my cortex with seismic wind load and steam hammer distribution analysis, at the end of the day, I just want to chill out–scanning gorgeous pictures and stunning color combo.” My boyfriend retorts, “you always have an answer for everything!”
Zbigniew Herbert in his essay The Blood of Thought in The Collected Prose writes:

Thinking is sometimes seen as a form of luxury in life, a narrow little puff of reflection trailing from the forehead. Down below the instincts, senses, and all the other condemned dark forces are seething. Thought is opposed to life as the only form of clarification and justification.

Linking up to Kileen’s Color Brigade.

3 thoughts on “thoughts on personal style blog

  1. Hi J,

    Just found your blog and I like your writing and fashion style, so I’m following you via bloglovin now. I too were afraid of what people in my real life are going to think if they knew I post what I wear on the internet, but by the third now my office mates are getting used to seeing me taking pictures in front of the filing cabinet every morning before work. ^__^
    Blogging is like releasing my inner girlie girl, because in the office, most of the time – though I dress feminine – the situations call for firm, rather masculine attitude. So, it’s like relaxation.

    LeeAnne, Style N Season
    http://stylenseason.blogspot.com

    Like

a penny for your thoughts

