antithetical pleasures

It has been a busy two weeks for me at work, everyday I came home around 11pm. I guess that’s the drawback of this new job. I’ve been blogging from work during my lunch break. Thank God it is Friday, I am so looking forward for the weekends.

A passage from Enduring Love by Ian McEwan:

If I remembered that morning of Clarissa’s birthday so well – cards and torn envelopes scattered across the bed, intrusive sunlight burning through the curtained gap – it’s because one of our little playful episodes brought me for the first time in my life to a full and complete experience in two places at once. Aroused by Clarissa, fully sentient and appreciative, and yet gripped by the tragedy behind the newspaper titbit, the two teams scattering midplay in the violent winds to die in their boots on the edge of the invisible pitch. All copulating creatures are vulnerable to attack, but selection over time must have proved that reproductive success was best served by undivided attention. Better to allow the occasional couple to be eaten mid-rapture than dilute by one jot a vigorous procreational urge. But for seconds on end I had wholesomely and simultaneously indulged two of life’s central, antithetical pleasures, reading and fucking.

For some reason I look like pregnant, arent I? Anyway wishing y’all a ‘wholesome’ weekend. 😉

aug12th
Goodwill thrifted outfit details:
BCBG slingbacks
Ellen Tracy dress
Orla Kiely handbag – Salvation Army
Glass beads pendant
Mexican sterling silver bangle

Linking up to Kileen’s Color Brigade.

2 thoughts on “antithetical pleasures

a penny for your thoughts

