i wish for you

IMG_1692a

I wish for you
Each small success
That makes a man a man.
I wish for you
An outside cut,
A twist of lime,
An order from the Coast,
A second look from pretty girls,
A second look for pretty girls,
And one glittering riposte.
I wish for you
Unshaven Sundays,
Brilliant Mondays,
And occasionally a day with nothing to do …
But ride waves or bikes or roller skates
And reflect, my dear, on
The importance of Not Being Corporate You.
Let others wish you
Hand-tailored suits,
English boots,
And dream executive dreams for you.
It is only money that they wish, my sweet,
But I want riches for you.

~ Lois Wyse, Love Poems for the Very Married.

It’s my husband’s birthday,today.

a penny for your thoughts

